The history of the mill
Water and hydropower are two important prerequisites for paper production.
In 1807, Leonhard Leinzinger had to mine his 17th century paper mill in Windheim – on the edge of the Spessart – beams for beams due to a lack of water. He brought the material on the Main to the idyllic wine town of Homburg, where he rebuilt and expanded the mill with the characteristic, three-storey roof.
In 1853, the Palatinate papermaker Johann Follmer took over the mill on the Bischbach, which remained in the family’s possession until its operational mission in 1975. After extensive, publicly funded restoration measures, the Homburg Paper Mill was opened as a museum in 1997. In 1999, the manufactory was connected, operated by Johannes Follmer, fifth-generation paper maker.
In addition to the paper mill and the paper manufacture, the paper barn also serves as a room for weddings, workshops and exhibitions. This makes it the third pillar in this graceful ambiance. The result was an axis between the industrial monument, the lively care of the paper craft and current art.
Johannes Follmer is committed to the tradition of the family. Together with his wife Maarit, who comes from Finland, his father Kurt and his mother Hildegard, he takes care of the preservation of this unique place. As soon as you enter the courtyard, the visitor feels the familiar and inviting atmosphere and quickly feels part of this papermaking family. With attention to detail, buildings and outdoor areas are maintained. Modern elements effortlessly blend into the historic environment thanks to the aesthetic and careful structural design.
A gam amidst a picturesque landscape. Surrounded by old vineyards and the vicinity of the Main which connects today the North Sea over the Rhine and Danube with the Black Sea.
Due to the diverse international contacts with other paper mills, paper-makers and artists from all over the world, this gam has become a meeting place for cultural and professional exchange on an international level.